Hopper Meditations (photographers serie)

tusckman06
© Richard Tuschman

“Hopper Meditations” is a personal photographic response to the work of the American painter, Edward Hopper. I have always loved the way Hopper’s paintings, with an economy of means, are able to address the psychological mysteries and complexities of the human condition.

“Hopper Meditations” es una respuesta fotográfica personal a la obra del pintor estadounidense Edward Hopper. Yo siempre he admirado el estilo de las  pinturas de Hopper , con una economía de medios, son capaces de abordar los misterios psicológicos y las complejidades de la condición humana.

tusckman04
© Richard Tuschman

Placing one or two figures in humble, intimate settings, he created quiet scenes that are psychologically compelling with open-ended narratives. The characters’ emotional states can seem to waver paradoxically between reverie and alienation, or perhaps between longing and resignation. Dramatic lighting heightens the emotional overtones, but any final interpretation is left to the viewer. These are all qualities I hope to imbue in my images as well.

Colocar una o dos figuras humildemente, en un ambiente íntimo y acogedor, crea escenas tranquilas que son psicológicamente convincentes con narrativas abiertas. Los estados emocionales de los personajes parecen vacilar paradójicamente entre ensoñación y alienación, o tal vez entre la nostalgia y la resignación. La iluminación dramática aumenta las connotaciones emocionales, pero cualquier interpretación final queda a gusto del espectador. Estas son todas las cualidades que quiero  imbuir a mis imágenes.

tusckman03
© Richard Tuschman

In other ways, my pictures diverge from Hopper’s paintings. The general mood in my work is more somber, and the lighting is less harsh, than in Hopper’s. I am trying to achieve an effect perhaps closer to the chiaroscuro lighting of Rembrandt, another painter I greatly admire. I would like the lighting to act as almost another character, not only illuminating the form of the figures, but also echoing and evoking their inner lives.

Por otro lado, mis fotos difieren de las pinturas de Hopper. El estado de ánimo general en mi trabajo es más sombrío, y la iluminación es menos severa que en los de cuadros de Hopper. Yo estoy tratando de lograr un efecto quizás más cercano a la iluminación del claroscuro de Rembrandt, otro pintor que admiro mucho. Me gusta la iluminación para actuar casi  como otro personaje, no sólo iluminar la forma de las figuras, también evocar su vida interior.

tusckman05
© Richard Tuschman

I like to think of my images as dramas for a small stage, with the figures as actors in a one or two character play. The characters, by appearance, are rooted specifically in the past, somewhere in Hopper’s mid-twentieth century. For me, this augments the dreamlike, staged effect of the scenes. The themes they evoke, though—solitude, alienation, longing—are timeless and universal.

Me gusta pensar en mis imágenes como dramas para un pequeño escenario, con las figuras como  actores en una obra de  uno o dos personajes. Los personajes están arraigados por su aspecto especialmente en el pasado, en algún lugar de mediados del siglo XX. Para mí, esto aumenta el efecto de ensueño, la puesta en escena de las escenas. Los temas que evocan, sin embargo -soledad, alienación, anhelo- son atemporales y universales.

tusckman02
© Richard Tuschman

View Richard Tuschman’s Profile

fuente: lensculture.com, Richard Tuschman

